Wrestling Jays send members to Districts and State!


Cora Pettry

The varsity JM wrestling team of 2021-2022 included varsity wrestlers Trent Joseph, Joe Armstrong, Cole Graham, Owen McDevitt, Colton Lynn, Elias Bray, Lucas Sokol, Jayden Scott, Tagen Simpson, Jake Gross, Gavin White, Issac Webster, Ethan Roy, and Zack Armstrong. The wrestling team had a strong start this year thanks to the Wrestling coaches: Terry Stockton, Brian Weidenthal, Dave Tomaino, and Jason Spencer. One of the tournaments attended was compiled of 12 schools from all across Northeast Ohio, ranging from Ashtabula County down to Columbiana County. The wrestlers ended their day with an impressive 5th place finish as a team while only entering wrestlers in 7 out of the 14 weight classes and impressively placed all 7 of these wrestlers! The placers for the Jays were Jayden Scott – 2nd #106, Lucas Sokol – 2nd #132, Trent Joseph – 5th #138, Colton Lynn – 6th #144, Cole Graham – 5th #150, Gavin White – 5th #215. The wrestlers did an amazing job at this tournament and many others this season.

Congratulations to Jayden Scott, Owen McDevitt, Lucas Sokol, Cole Graham, and Gavin White who wrestled their way to the district tournament.

A special congratulations to Owen McDevitt who qualified for the OHSAA State Wrestling Championship! Being a State qualifier is something to be proud of!

The team will lose 4 seniors this year and these young men have been an outstanding asset to their team throughout their wrestling careers. They will definitely be missed!